The 30 Day Horror Challenge Part 1

It’s been a while since my last post, due to the last few weeks of school and the start of my new internship, so I thought I’d reconnect myself into the world of horror by partaking in this horror challenge, condensed into a few posts.  This will get me back into the habit of writing and it will give you guys an idea of the type of horror films that I do like.  Also, several of categories can be filled by one film.  Best vampire and film I relate to could both be Let the Right One In, but I did not want to repeat any because I felt that I really wanted to make this a challenge.

1.  A horror film that no one would expect you to love, but you do:

Image
I was very vocal to colleagues, friends, and family about this movie when I saw the trailer and heard that the villain was a bunch of plants……..plants?????  Once I sat down and watched it, I fell in love with it.  The only problem is, I didn’t tell anyone else I liked it, so they still assume I hate it.
2.  The horror film that you most relate to:

Image

As a child, I was an outcast who was bullied for liking comic books and horror movies.  I totally relate with Oskar, except I never had a badass vampire chick move in and defend me.

3.  Your favorite slasher:

Image

The first slasher I ever saw as a kid also happened to be the best one I’ve ever seen.

 4.  Your favorite werewolf film:
Image
Over time, I learned to appreciate everything about this film, from the bad acting all the way down to the legendary metamorphosis scene.  I’m not a big werewolf fan, but if The Howling is ever on TV, I’ll stop what I’m doing to watch it.
5.  Your favorite monster movie:
Image
While not real monsters, per se, these Killer Klowns were pretty entertaining as a kid, especially to those coulrophobia kids.  How can you not love a clown wrapping you up in cotton candy and sucking you dry?
6.  Your favorite vampire movie:
Image
One of the best horror comics ever was treated to a very worth big screen adaptation back in 2007.  This movie has one of my favorite lines in a horror movie:  “God?  No God.”
 7.  Your favorite supernatural horror film:
Image
Some may disagree, but you got to give Kubrick credit:  he created a truly frightening supernatural experience that many people will never forget.
8.  Your favorite anthology:
Image
It was a very hard toss up between this and Creepshow, but this wins out in the end.  Despite it’s allure, Creepshow only had 2 and a half good stories (that’s right, 2 and a half.  The Box segment was way too long and only the second half of it was good).  Every story in this anthology is good and it blends well together in the non-linear style that was incorporated.
9.  Your favorite exploitation/grindhouse film:
Image
While it’s not a horror film, per se, it has enough gore in it to qualify as one.  Plus, this film kickstarted Troma and launched such classics as Sgt. Kabukiman NYPD, Surf Nazis Must Die, and Fat Guy Goes Nutzoid.  I salute you Toxie and the B-movie trash I watched growing up.
10.  Your favorite psychological horror film:
Image
If you haven’t seen this, for shame.  It’s playing on the Netflix instant stream and it is well worth watching.  This movie will make your skin crawl in the third act and is by far one of the creepiest films ever shot.  Plus, it has this classic David Caruso scene:
11.  Your favorite science fiction horror film:
Image
It was a toss up between this and The Fly, but I ultimately went with this one because of two things:  it has the greatest living actor, Kurt Russell, and the phenomenal creature effects of the thing.

12.  Your favorite horror film involving the occult:

Image

The slow burn storytelling technique by Ti West is phenomenal.  Great lead actress, great concept, and a nice homage to the 80s.

See you tomorrow, if you dare!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

3 thoughts on “The 30 Day Horror Challenge Part 1

  1. No, I never read the cb, but enjoyed the movie. BTW, Trick’r’Treat was a great anothology, the way they interwove all the stories. I’m a big fan of anthologies, from the old Amicus Films (Tales from the crypt, Beyond the grave) to new ones like, Theater Bizarre. Even worked on a low budget antho myself (Evil Streets -1998).

Leave a Reply

