Movie Confessions Blogathon

Hello all and welcome back to Man vs Horror.  Today I am partaking in an excellent blogathon from the wonderful group over at Myfilmviews.  In this blogathon I will confess to certain things, some good, some bad, and some ugly.  Grab a sandwich and soda, kick back, and prepare to enter the mind of a film nerd with too much time on his hands.  (Oh, if you are interested in joining this blogathon, head on over to the link provided here to sign up.)

Which classic movie don’t you like/can’t enjoy and why?

Image

There are quite a few films that have been deemed classics that weren’t really my cup of tea, but the one film I’m choosing is Stanley Kubrick’s 2001: A Space Odyssey.  I love Stanley Kubrick and I appreciate what he’s brought to the world of film, but this film is just boring to me.  I understand that he used new technology that was revolutionary at the time and that HAL is one of the greatest villains ever, but I just can’t sit down and enjoy this movie without being bored to death.  I do appreciate the film, its merit, and its influences on other directors, but it’s just not for me.

Which ten classic movies haven’t you seen yet?

There are so many classic movies that I haven’t seen due to time constraints, my personal preference to horror and documentary, and lack of appeal.  I don’t know what would be deemed a “classic movie” so I will refer to the holy grail of film nerds:  the IMDb Top 250 (even though I don’t agree with some of them as being classics, but that might be saved for a different post).  My ten, in no particular order:

  1. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest
  2. It’s A Wonderful Life
  3. Blade Runner
  4. To Kill A Mockingbird
  5. Seven Samurai
  6. Metropolis
  7. Taxi Driver
  8. Casablanca
  9. The Great Escape
  10. On the Waterfront

Have you ever sneaked into another movie at the cinema?

I just did a few weeks ago.  

Which actor/actress do you think is overrated?

Image

Has there ever been an actor in the history of cinema who injects comedy into non-comedic roles?  I think Ryan Reynolds is a cool guy and he looks like a fun guy to hang out with, but if I’m making a $100 million action/superhero movie, I would not put him in it.  Reynolds acts the same way in every role, no matter the genre, and it has gotten old real quick.  I liked Van Wilder but he can’t be like that character in every single role.  

From which big director have you never seen any movie (and why)?

Akira Kurosawa.  That might come off as blasphemy to my fellow film bloggers but I just never found the time to watch his films.  I am interested in watching Seven Samurai some day due to its major influence on American westerns, a sub-genre which appeals to me.  My affinity for horror has handicapped me from viewing several films outside the genre and I will try to get more non-horror in. 

Which movie do you love, but is generally hated?

Tango and Cash is by far one of my favorite guilty pleasures.  It has my favorite actor of all time, Kurt Russell, paired up with Sly Stallone in an epic battle to take down…Jack Palance?  The dialogue is horrible, the storyline is questionable, and the blasphemous act of dressing Russell up in drag does not take anything away from a favorite of mine from my childhood.  If you haven’t seen it yet, rent it and strap in for an epic amount of cheese from the early 90s.  This scene gives you a little sample of what’s in store for you:

Did you ever watch a movie, which you knew in advance would be bad, just because of a specific actor/actress was in it?  Which one and why?

This one is a little hard but the first thing that came to mind was Tiptoes.  When I first saw this trailer, I thought it was for a skit, like the kinds you see on SNL.  But after researching it online and discovered that this was an actual movie, I had to sit down and watch it for Gary Oldman, one of my favorite Brits, portraying a midget and chewing up a lot of scenery.  Look at the trailer if you don’t believe me about it being a fake movie:

See?

Did you ever not watch a specific movie because it had subtitles?

No way sir.  Some of the best movies I’ve ever seen have been foreign films from Spain, France, Italy, Korea, Japan, etc.

Are there any movies in your collection that you have had for more than five years and never watched?

No, I always watch the movies I purchase within a month or two of buying them.  The only movie in my collection which I haven’t seen yet is Black Sabbath, a film I purchased just last month.

Which are the worst movies in your collection and why do you still own them?

The worst movies in my collection has to be all of my Troma movies, from Tromeo & Juliet to The Toxic Avenger.  I still own them because they are the campy movies I grew up watching on USA’s Up All Night.  I view these films as amazing memories to my youth, when I first discovered genre films and all the good/crap they had to offer.  After meeting Lloyd Kauffman at Comic Con two years ago and having him sign my stuff, it would be blasphemous to throw out his “masterpieces.”

Do you have any confessions about your movie watching set up at home?

Yes, two confessions actually.  One, I do not own a blu ray player or any blu ray discs, yet.  I plan on purchasing one in the future.  But that seems unlikely because my second confession is that I watch all my movies on my 13′ Macbook despite the fact that I have a nice 36′ TV in my room.  The only time I use my TV to watch movies is when I buy a new DVD which is becoming rarer as VOD and streaming becomes a lot more convenient for me.

Any other confessions you want to make?

I though The Dark Knight Rises was ok.  So many people are giving me crap because I didn’t think that it was the “greatest superhero movie ever made” or “the greatest movie ever made” for that matter.  Honestly, this was the weakest of the Nolan trilogy. Batman Begins is Episode IV: A New Hope, The Dark Knight is Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back, and The Dark Knight Rises is Episode VI: Return of the Jedi.  The film was good, but not great.  But that’s for another day my friends.

Thanks for stopping by and reading.  See you next time.

One thought on “Movie Confessions Blogathon

  1. Pingback: Movie Confessions Blogathon « My Filmviews

Leave a Reply

